Vegan Halloween, are there any treats?

Trick or Treat

As parents, a couple of the lessons you teach kids would be, don’t talk to strangers and never accept anything from strangers, right?  But, for at least one day a year, parents sort of sell out a little bit on that and bend the rules.  

Taking your kids trick or treating can be challenging for all families, for a variety of reasons.  It can be especially challenging if your family adheres to a vegan lifestyle.

So, don’t expect edamame or chickpea snacks, bananas, apples, oranges or even avacodos.  Don’t expect to win any Parent of The Year awards on Halloween, shouldn’t be your proudest day. Just Expect to see: sugar x sugar= sugar/omg

Put this equation in the simplest form:  s= nightmare 

Typical street talk for the night:

-Hmm, that kid has a beard! He’s too old for trick or treating, right Hun?

-Haven’t you been here already?

-Just take one please!

-Are you really trick or treating for your kid that’s home sick?

-Quick, shut the lights babe, we’re running out of candy and here comes the Paw Patrol?

-Wow, our neighbor is weirder than we thought.

-Is that toilet paper on our tree?

Okay, it’s Halloween, let your guard down a little, it’s fun for the kids, so do your best and let the little ones have some sugar rushes.

Here’s a list of Yes & No’s for vegan kids:

Check for these non-vegan ingredients and good luck trying to find it on the wrapper.

gelet.png

  • Gelatin
  • Carmine
  • Shellac
  • Bone Char
  • Milk Chocolate
  • Beeswax
  • Honey
  • Casein
  • Whey
  • Albumen
  • Confectioner’s Glaze
  • Food Grade Wax

Popular candy that is not Vegan

boo

  • Reese’s
  • Milky Way
  • Twix
  • Baby Ruth
  • Butterfingers
  • Nestle Crunch
  • Almond Joy
  • Snickers
  • 3 Musketeers
  • Dove bar
  • M&M’s
  • Kit Kat
  • Tootsie Rolls

Popular candy that is Vegan

thumb up

  • Skittles
  • Hunny Bon Sweets. …
  • Airheads. …
  • Twizzlers. …
  • Jolly Ranchers. …
  • Justin’s Dark Chocolate PB Cups.
  • Blow pops
  • Dum dums
  • lemon heads
  • Cracker Jacks
  • Sweat tarts
  • Swedish fish
  • Sour patch kids
  • Smarties
  • Nerds
  • Laffy Taffy
  • Annies fruit snacks
  • Now & Later

Side Notes:

Biggest disappointment

Unfortunately, Tootsie rolls and its derivative candy (Tootsie Pops, Tootsie Fruit Rolls, etc.) are not considered vegan. They contain a number of animal ingredients, most being milk-based

tootsie.png

Biggest surprise

Swedish Fish does not contain gelatin, the gelling agent derived from the collagen obtained from various animal body parts found in most gummy candies. So, unlike most gummies, Swedish Fish are vegan!

image:https://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/manchester-city-boo-uefa-anthem-13674961


Plantbase Patriot favorite cap.

 

 

9 Comments

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.